Home » Foreign Palates » Traditional Fruit recipes

Traditional Fruit recipes

There is nothing like Apples and having eaten a special Compote for the holidays , I thought how great it would be next time to include Cranberries with pears. Meanwhile I’ve been dining elsewhere and had some great dishes in families whom welcomed me into their homes this holiday season.

Talking about desserts, Baked apples are a favourite in my house with cloves and cranberries but also sliced apples with cinnamon  go well with some home-made ice cream a favourite recipe which I make regularly since a close friend shared it with me.

Being invited to strangers home of different denominations  is a pleasure, the chance to bless receiving such delicious dishes some which remind me of my childhood favourites at my religious aunts homes.    Still the tzimmes I make is an improvement on the one we ate, but the enjoyment of Carrot Muffins, Cupcakes and my Pumpkin Soup  will probably get another mention after Yom Kippur when we enjoy breaking the fast with some traditional recipes.  For now enjoy this Cranberry Bread recipe I tried on Tu-B’shvat but its great for Rosh Hashana also.

Grandmother’s Famous Cranberry Bread
recipe image
Rated: rating
Submitted By: Mim Harris
Photo By: danielle
Servings: 12
“Raisins are cranberries are baked into this orange scented loaf. This would be an ideal hostess gift, or simply enjoyed with afternoon tea.”
INGREDIENTS:
2 cups sifted all-purpose flour
1 cup white sugar
1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
1 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 cup butter
1 egg, beaten
1 teaspoon orange zest
3/4 cup orange juice
1 1/2 cups golden raisins
1 1/2 cups chopped cranberries
DIRECTIONS:
1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C). Spray or grease one 9x5x3 inch loaf pan.
2. Whisk together the flour, sugar, baking powder, salt and baking soda.
3. Cut in butter until mixture is crumbly. Add egg, orange peel, and orange juice; stir to mix and fold in raisins and cranberries.
4. Pour into loaf pan and bake for 70 minutes or until toothpick inserted comes out clean. Remove from pan; cool on wire rack.
ALL RIGHTS RESERVED © 2013 Allrecipes.com Printed from Allrecipes.com 3/2/2013

I look forward to hearing about your traditional desserts to really sweeten our appetites.

Wishing all my fellow Jewish Compatriates  a great fruitful year with the hope that Peace will prevail together with the best of health for all my friends, followers and happiness.

Leave a comment your feedback is appreciated

