Home » Foreign Palates » HAPPY NEW YEAR – Horsing Around 2014

HAPPY NEW YEAR – Horsing Around 2014

Its early February the sun isshining and the New Year is far from over for 1 Billion Chinese and thats not taking into account Chinese outside of the mainland. I’m so looking forward to the Year of the horse even though I’m not really Chinese, although I can claim some connection seeing as my mother was born in Harbin, China and studied in Shanghai until her late teens I grew up in Australia.

Today I’ve made my life in Israel faced with many challanges. Riding a Camel for 3 days in the desert was both comfortable and stable which wasn’t my experience on a horse. But like my past-time of Betting on the Australian Cup , going to the stables at the Race Course checking out my favourite Brumby it’ll be a while before I gamble again and now I can look forward for get to being lucky enough to get invited into the VIP Lounge.

Its time to check out the latest styles in Red Polka Dotted daks (according to one of my sources) from the local department store having heard about it reminded me of my trip in Australia where I stumbled upon a tree painted with a teeny weeny polka dotted bikini which was almost as good as this picture of a car rental place near Cairns.

I’m told its a New Year tradition to bring in Good luck in.2014 which ends on February 18th, 2015 and the Wooden Horse symbolises  Jiǎwǔnián, also called asMùmǎnián (Wood Horse). The Chinese  year 4712  is based on the Lunar Calender as is the Jewish Calendar which begins around September and is 5774 years old and counting. .

The spirit of the horse is recognized to be the Chinese people’s ethos – making unremitting efforts to improve themselves. It is energetic, bright, warm-hearted, intelligent and able. Ancient people liked to designate an able person as ‘Qianli Ma’, a horse that covers a thousand li a day (one li equals 500 meters).

Travellers  born in the year of the horse have ingenious communicating techniques and in their community they always want to be in the limelight. They are clever, kind to others, and like to join in a venture career. Although they sometimes talk too much, they are cheerful, perceptive, talented, earthy but stubborn. They like entertainment and large crowds. They are popular among friends, active at work and refuse to be reconciled to failure, although their endeavor cannot last indefinitely. Making friends around the world is a favourite pastime.

Having  vowed to renewed old friendships and make new ones this year , before embarking on a trip overseas next year.  Meeting  people from all around the globe teaches us to be tolerant and more understanding yet I find myself challanging personality traits given to people from different countries having lived a childhood in such places.

My perception of people from Austria, Czech Republic, Finland, Hong Kong/China, India, Russia or South Africa evovles and the stigmas involved give us preconceptions that in some cases prove correct until you meet a backpacker whom shows you the down to earth perceptions of people whom are continuously breaking walls of resistance challanging their fears and reaching new heights.

Some may be atuned to the works of Mozart and picturing Austria as a place of lush green hills and snowy Alps is very enlightening. Of course Arnold Shwarzzeneger put Austria on the map for Sports achievements and continued to show the world how trusting  instincts may not show sporty spirit but definately gives one an anchor to hold on to when in unfamiliar surroundings and can teach us all to be weary of the friendliest of intentions.

Still the sporty competitiveness of Austrians and Australians alike should be admired but not at all costs. My mothers cousin made a life in Australia after batting it out on the Tennis courts in China with a smile that would capture my heart when I think back to the precious moments I spent with him. Maybe it was life in China from my Austrian and Russian /Ukrainian background which instilled in me the spirit of the horse.

The spirit of the horse is recognized to be the Chinese people’s ethos – making unremitting efforts to improve themselves. It is energetic, bright, warm-hearted, intelligent and able. Ancient people liked to designate an able person as ‘Qianli Ma’, a horse that covers a thousand li a day (one li equals 500 meters).So in an effort to follow ancient Qianli Ma tradition I reached the Everest and ever since I’ve been on the run..

The memories of Sydney at its best on New Years Eve , will always  be  in my heart as are the galloping horses, from the movie Man from Snowy River.  reminding me of the Blue Mountains and abseiling /rappeling off  cliffs or the Scenic Railway which was as much fun as the Funicular in Hong Kongs Peak or Flamsbahn on the Flam Line in Bergen, Norway.

Warm people from Freezing Finland, Czech Republic or colourful India have inspired me to continue to travel and have faith in people opening my home to guests from around the globe over the years.

I dream of learning Spanish to speak with South Americans, and Spaniards and maybe even allow for me to understand Ladino a language still alive amongst Jewish ancestors in Israel and  around the world.Maybe one day I will get to go on Safari to Africa, see the waterfalls, tribal villages and beauty of South Africa inspired by the faith the late Nelson Mandela had in his people but for now I can dream in a world that peaceful harmony can be reached if we all accept each others differences and practice tolerance and abhorance for all types of terror and violence by teaching our children to communicate with one another no matter the language we use.

 Finally utilising my Couscous pot we were given as a wedding present years ago I managed to make delicious Dim Sums with Sweet potatoes and others with Capsicum or Red Peppers if you prefer. Celebrating The Chinese New Year was a special treat this year falling on a Friday Night and tempting me to be innovative for 4 customers whom insist I do it every year…

Guess its time I get out the Chinese Cookbooks. And share a few important facts for those of you whom were lucky to associate with those born in the year of the Horse whom like to move in glamorous circles while pursuing high profile careers.

Lucky Facts to horse around with!

Wu Xing (The Five Elements): huo (fire)
Yin Yang: yang
Lucky Colors: brown, yellow, purple; Avoid: blue, white, golden
Lucky Numbers: 2, 3, 7; Avoid 1, 6, 5
Lucky Flowers: calla lily, jasmine, marigold

So smell a Lily, marigold or Jasmine flower as you enjoy your Chinese Tea welcoming a great year ahead. Share my post and share your predictions for the year of the Horse.

.

Leave a comment your feedback is appreciated

